Saturday, February 27, 2010

The Black Keys - Blakroc

The Black Keys- Blakroc
1. Coochie (featuring Ludacris & Ol' Dirty Bastard
2. On the Vista (featuring Mos Def)
3. Hard Times (featuring NOE)
4. Dollaz & Sense (featuring RZA & Pharoahe Monch)
5. Why Can’t I Forget Him (featuring Nicole Wray)
6. Stay Off the Fuckin’ Flowers (featuring Raekwon)
7. Ain't Nothing Like You (Hoochie Coo) (featuring Mos Def & Jim Jones)
8. Hope You’re Happy (featuring Billy Danze of M.O.P., Q-Tip & Nicole Wray)
9. Tellin’ Me Things (featuring RZA)
10. What You Do to Me (featuring Billy Danze of M.O.P., Jim Jones & Nicole Wray)
11. Done Did It (featuring Nicole Wray & NOE)

First off, this is not just The Black Keys. This is a collaboration album with tons of rappers, featuring Ludarcis, Ol' Dirty Bastard (R.I.P.), Mos Def, RZA, and many more talented rappers. Also featuring the booming female vocals of Nicole Wray. This album was made in 11 days. Nearly one day per song. Many people may wonder how they got ODB's vocals. Well, ODB had some tapes which were signed over to his brief Roc4Life venture under Def Jam, with intention for a new album to be released. This is an astonishing mix of music. Any rock/rap collaboration is great in my books. It has all of the perks of rap, but with the sound of black keys in the background. After seeing them live this summer in Denver, and briefly meeting Patrick Carney (their drummer), I think that this C.D. is a great addition to their previous ones. I would have been sadly deprived if my friend had not told me about them.

Suggested Songs: Coochie, Ain't Nothing Like You, and Done Did It